The Murray region covers an area stretching from the Snowy Valleys through to the South Australia border and includes the local government areas of:


Balranald Shire Council

Berrigan Shire Council

Edward River Council

Federation Council

Greater Hume Council

Murray River Council

Wentworth Shire Council

The Murray region also includes parts of:

Snowy Valleys Council

Population Centres

The main population centres in the Murray region are:

  • Albury
  • Balranald
  • Barham
  • Barooga
  • Berrigan
  • Buronga
  • Corowa
  • Culcairn
  • Deniliquin
  • Finley
  • Henty
  • Holbrook
  • Howlong
  • Moama
  • Mulwala
  • Tocumwal
  • Tumbarumba
Above: The Regional Development Murray area

Postcodes for the Murray region

As a guide, we have compiled a list of postcodes for the Murray region here. As some of these may cross boundaries of Local Government Areas, and are subject to change, you must confirm these against the list of designated regional areas from the Department of Home Affairs.


If you’re looking for practical advice to help identify and understand your workplace challenges, contact the Local Business Chamber in your area:

ResizedImage600424 rda map national
Above: Regional Development Australia regions
ResizedImage600424 rda map newsouthwales
Above: NSW Regional Development Australia Regions